Hope Scholars Fund

    The goal of the Hope Scholars Fund is to help Hope Academy graduates be equipped for Kingdom work in college, and to bridge the gap for students with limited social-economic stability.

    The Hope Scholars Fund is provided through a partnership with the SAM Foundation. Currently, the SAM Foundation has committed a $10,000/year total award is available to each year’s graduates and is renewable for an additional three years.

    The selection committee is comprised of Hope staff and trustees and they select no more than two recipients each year based on the following criteria:

    – Demonstrated financial need (50%)
    – Demonstrated Christian character (25%)
    – Academic ability and achievement (25%)

    Ideal candidates exemplify perseverance in adversity and priority is given to students with limited family background of college attendance and/or completion.

    To view more details on the selection process and criteria, view our Hope Scholars Application Breakdown (PDF).

    The SAM Foundation invites others who want to help Hope Academy graduates continue their education and Christian discipleship into college. Gifts can be made out to “SAM Foundation” with “Hope Scholars Fund” in the subject line and can be sent to:

    Hope Scholars Fund
    SAM Foundation
    P.O. Box 340
    Hamel, MN 55340-0340

    If you have questions about the Hope Scholars Fund, please contact Jim Stigman, Head of Institutional Advancement, at 612-721-6294 ext. 106, [email protected]

    Current Hope Scholars
    Alexis Owens (2014), Calvin College (MI)
    Abraham Norman (2014), Hillsdale College (MI)
    Micah Fisher (2014), North Central University (MN)
    Auryanna Owens (2013), Cornerstone University (MI)
    Anna Carlson (2013), Seattle Pacific University (WA)
    Leah Ferguson (2012), Wellesley College (MA)

    Previous recipients:
    Giovanni Herrera (2012), Northwestern College (MN)